Baby Bird & Bird Cage Themed Baby Shower

Oh, baby showers are so fun to design and decorate. For my friend Sarah’s baby shower, we decided to go with a bird cage theme, inspired by a piece of art in the nursery from Pottery Barn:

  

I found great inspiration on hostess blog from the Shabby Chic Baby Shower. To simplify, we chose the robin’s egg blue, light pink, and brown for our pallette. I must admit that time fell short and I found myself running around as the guest arrived, trying to clean up and get the last of the decorations up (and put some make-up on).  Luckily the mother-to-be’s sister-in-law (wow, that’s a lot of hyphens) took some photos of the decor and I snapped a few after the party.

We decided to set up a long table outside since they have such a lovely deck and their outdoor furniture happens to be the same blue color we are using for our theme.

We took advantage of the pergola and hung lots of tissue poms and also assorted hearts that i painted and decopauged.  Sarah’s handy husband, Matt, put up some cables for us to hang stuff above the part of the table that was not under the pergola. I also got help from Sarah’s mom, Sharon, who I must say is the reason I got into party designing to begin with. She and a few of her friends wrapped the beams with branches and she also did the flowers:

Fabric bunting flags are a great and inexpensive way to add color and interest to a party. I used the “no sew” technique with heat bond. I also made the loooooong table runner this way. I love no sew heat bond for these types of projects but I have recently acquired a new sewing machine and my goal is to learn how to use it.

Image

The cake was done by Ashley at Icing and Aprons.  She matched the invitations perfectly and we topped it off with a wicker birdcage and some roses. The caterer also made phyllo dough bird nests and we placed M&M eggs in them. SO CUTE!

Image

I added ribbon to one of the chairs and secured it with a silk flower pin.Image

We had the guests try to guess how many clothespins were in the jar on the left as one of the games. We also played the purse game.  One of the guests got over 200 points.

It was a beautiful day and a beautiful shower for a beautiful baby girl, Madelyn, who is now 3 months old! Let me know if you have any questions on how I made the decorations in the comments!

CRAFTY CAROLYN

Leave a comment